Contentment In Every Circumstance!

Most people in the world today are seeking some kind of contentment. Some seek it through purchasing a new house or a fancy car, or as many other items as their hearts desire. Others seek to find contentment by sacrificing possessions and living a simple life, free from temporal things. Some equate contentment with happiness, others with simply being resigned to the fact that we won’t ever get everything we desire. But the truth is that real contentment can only be found through Jesus Christ. As Christians, we have everything we need and so much more… When the Apostle Paul wrote the letter to the church in Philippi, here is what he had to say about contentment: 


“I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need.  I can do all things through him who strengthens me.”  Philippians 4:11-13

The amazing part about this passage is that Paul was writing this letter from prison. He knew that whether he was in prison or in a palace, in any circumstance, he could be content, for Christ was with him. Paul found his identity in Christ. He knew that the source of his satisfaction, hope, strength and riches was found in Christ. With confidence, Paul could say that satisfaction and contentment are found in Christ alone, a lesson he learned this through many trials. What about you? Do you find yourself hoping in something other than Christ to satisfy? Perhaps a new job,or a relationship, or health. All those are good things, but only Christ can satisfy.

Paul knew that through Christ, he could do all things… even be content in seeming hopeless circumstances.  We have this same promise today… that the same God that empowered Paul to be content in prison, is at work in our lives today. We can live our entire lives seeking comfort in relationships, acknowledgement and power. We can seek contentment from temporal pleasures. None of these things will satisfy. Not really. They may give fleeting surges of happiness, but they do not last. Jesus is our righteousness, our rest, and contentment. Only the face of God satisfies. Only being in His presence allows us to reflect His likeness.

Let’s take control of our thoughts, dear friends. Let us stand with Paul in declaring, “I can do everything through Him who gives me strength” (Philippians 4:13). Let us put our hope in God who never changes, rather than the fluctuating circumstances around us. Even if nothing else may be going right, I can be confident that God is with me. Let’s discover together that God is enough through every season of life! I am speaking out loud to my soul today, “Why are you in despair, O my soul? Why are you in disturbed within me? Hope in God, for I shall yet praise Him. The help of my countenance and my God.” (Psalms 43:5)

About Jesus is a safe harbor

I am a follower of Jesus. I am a grateful delivered woman who was once an addict, but now God has restored me and renewed me. I have been redeemed and remade by our Creator through salvation of His Son, Jesus Christ! I just want to share what God has done in my life that you may have the opportunity to experience the same joy He gave me. I give God all the glory for everything in my life for I couldn't accomplish anything apart from Him. If ye shall know the truth, the truth shall set you free, John 8:32. He puts people in my life that help me and gives me the opportunity to help another. I am never surprised by his love and blessings. God has placed a confidence and love in myself that I have never had before… so "Thank you God".. for the many True Blue Christians you have put in my life and for all the blessings you bestow on me daily. I have not come this far without lots of prayers and the help and love of my true friends and family and I thank you God for those special people in my life. You are 100% my Savior! I will forever have your name on my lips. I realize now with lots of prayer and reading of the Word… that all the answers were here for me and I never asked the questions. Although I still struggle daily with other life’s daily cards that are dealt, I have an attitude now of “NO MATTER WHAT “– I will praise You, Lord~~~through my storms and my triumphs! I have much more to share and would love to answer any questions anyone may have for through all my trials what has come to be is that I want to help others to see what I didn’t see and hopefully prevent the same hurts, guilt, shame and woes that I had to deal with and give them the best gift of all… JESUS! I believe it's important that we know who we are in God ... We are a one of a kind and God has made us like no other for a purpose- His purpose. Yes, bad things happen and yes, we make poor choices, but we don't have to continue to make them. God's mercies are new each day. Once we realize, know and most importantly believe who we are in Christ, that we are a child of God, we are not an accident, and whatever the circumstances before us each day no matter what they are... God gives us the choice and the power of Him to choose right and live right. We no longer have to live in the past, but in the present and look with expectation to the future with God by our side guiding us and directing our steps. He is our strength and our hope needs to reside in Him. Let his power and love work in your life today and see that life does not have to be the way you are living now. He wants to help you, but you have to let him. He can't make us come to him, he is not lost - WE ARE! Please share this blog with others to encourage them for the glory of God!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

