8 facts you need to know about your feelings

Happiness is a state of being, it is not a goal to aim for. People spend their entire lives in the search of happiness when it’s already there. The reason for your unhappiness is not that you haven’t reached it yet, it’s all the stuff that piled up over the years. If you want to be happy, then clear your head of all your past or future problems and just enjoy the present moment. Emotions come in waves. You might be feeling great now, but you’ll be miserable later. You might love your spouse now but you’ll hate her guts later. You may hate her now (for whatever reason) but you’ll probably love her again once the problem is solved. Therefore your love for someone cannot be based on the feeling you get in your chest when you’re around them. That shall pass as well. What will remain however is the person standing next to you. So, do you love the person or do you love the feeling? Just because something feels good doesn’t mean it’s necessarily right. Doing drugs apparently feels great, but that doesn’t mean you should do it. Watching TV and sitting in front of a computer doing nothing feels great but that doesn’t mean it’s right. Asking a girl to marry you after a month of being together may feel like the right choice but I can guarantee it isn’t. Eating bread with every meal may feel like the right choice but it’s actually bad for your health. The list goes on and on. Emotions change in a flash. You can be completely miserable right now, but you see someone get hit by a giant wedding cake and boom – you start laughing. Our emotions are not a result of what happens to us, but a result of how we interpret what happens to us. If you would accidentally trip and hit your leg into a piece of furniture you would be pretty miserable right? If a karate-ka or muay thay fighter would go through the same ordeal he would take it as leg training and probably smack his leg a couple more times just for the fun of it. If you see someone fall asleep into a bowl of soup you would be pretty amused right? But the chef will probably not share in your joy. Let’s say you slip on a banana peel. If you say to yourself – a shit, that hurts! – you will feel miserable. If you say to yourself – ha, the irony. Reminds me of Looney tunes – you will find yourself laughing at the situation. The same thing happened; you just dealt with it differently. One of our fundamental needs is a feeling of importance. You can trace just about any action to a desire for importance. People get their feeling of importance through their jobs, through their friends, through eating, hurting others, curing cancer, bringing world peace, suicide bombing, helping an old lady across the street or by stealing her bag. Where and how you get your feeling of importance determines who you are. On a side note, if you strip a person of his feeling of importance you will see a very nasty side of his personality come out in a desperate attempt to get it back. Your emotional patterns are (for the most part) a result your environment, they can be changed. If, at a party, you hear a certain song you’ve never heard before at the peak of your party mood you will associate that song with partying. From that point on, every time you hear that song you will go into a party mood. You’ve been making such associations with most of the things in your life. As a result you go into a certain mood when you’re at work or school and in another mood when you’re at home. You go into a certain mood when meeting a friend and into another when meeting an asshole. You can also change the associations you don’t like. If the asshole starts reading the Bible and becomes a good guy there’s no longer a point for the sickening feeling you get every time you meet him. If you act excited long enough you will become so. When something happens to us our brain analyzes the situation and comes up with an appropriate behavior. Then the brain releases chemicals which give us a certain emotion which makes us adopt the “appropriate behavior”. This also works the other way around. If you adopt a certain behavior for a long enough period of time your brain will interpret it as if you are in a situation demanding that behavior; and it will send chemicals to induce the specific emotion. If, when you’re miserable, you force yourself to jump up and down and yell from the top of your lungs wooohoooo!! I guarantee you will start to feel better.So there you have it: 8 basic facts on the topic of emotions. If you wish me to detail any of the above let me know in the comment section. Also, if you have any emotional problems (or any problems for that matter) with which you need assistance let me know. I’m here to help.

via 8 facts you need to know about your feelings.

About Jesus is a safe harbor

I am a follower of Jesus. I am a grateful delivered woman who was once an addict, but now God has restored me and renewed me. I have been redeemed and remade by our Creator through salvation of His Son, Jesus Christ! I just want to share what God has done in my life that you may have the opportunity to experience the same joy He gave me. I give God all the glory for everything in my life for I couldn't accomplish anything apart from Him. If ye shall know the truth, the truth shall set you free, John 8:32. He puts people in my life that help me and gives me the opportunity to help another. I am never surprised by his love and blessings. God has placed a confidence and love in myself that I have never had before… so "Thank you God".. for the many True Blue Christians you have put in my life and for all the blessings you bestow on me daily. I have not come this far without lots of prayers and the help and love of my true friends and family and I thank you God for those special people in my life. You are 100% my Savior! I will forever have your name on my lips. I realize now with lots of prayer and reading of the Word… that all the answers were here for me and I never asked the questions. Although I still struggle daily with other life’s daily cards that are dealt, I have an attitude now of “NO MATTER WHAT “– I will praise You, Lord~~~through my storms and my triumphs! I have much more to share and would love to answer any questions anyone may have for through all my trials what has come to be is that I want to help others to see what I didn’t see and hopefully prevent the same hurts, guilt, shame and woes that I had to deal with and give them the best gift of all… JESUS! I believe it's important that we know who we are in God ... We are a one of a kind and God has made us like no other for a purpose- His purpose. Yes, bad things happen and yes, we make poor choices, but we don't have to continue to make them. God's mercies are new each day. Once we realize, know and most importantly believe who we are in Christ, that we are a child of God, we are not an accident, and whatever the circumstances before us each day no matter what they are... God gives us the choice and the power of Him to choose right and live right. We no longer have to live in the past, but in the present and look with expectation to the future with God by our side guiding us and directing our steps. He is our strength and our hope needs to reside in Him. Let his power and love work in your life today and see that life does not have to be the way you are living now. He wants to help you, but you have to let him. He can't make us come to him, he is not lost - WE ARE! Please share this blog with others to encourage them for the glory of God!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

